Sportswoman of the Year



Open to any female who has excelled as an individual or in a team, in one or more sports whose level of achievement represented the Wellington region to the highest level / greatest achievement.

– Achievements by nominees will only be considered if they have occurred during the qualifying period 12 April 2016 to 17 April 2017
– Regarding the achievement, was it in that sport’s ‘pinnacle event’ (eg Olympics, Paralympics, Rugby World Cup)
– Regarding the achievement, was it a world record, or world ranking or recognition (eg ‘World Player of the Year’)
– Regarding the achievement, the quality of the field / competition
– The global nature of the sport
– New Zealand’s capability and world ranking over a period of time in the particular sport
– Nominees under consideration for the awards must be a ‘Wellingtonian’ as per the criteria (a), (b), or (c) below:

(a) Through residency in the greater Wellington region during the qualifying period
(b) Through representing the Wellington region or a Wellington based club in their chosen discipline during the qualifying period
(c) Through being commonly acknowledged as a Wellingtonian (including the Wairarapa, Kapiti, Porirua and Hutt Valley) although not regularly resident in the region due to the demands of their sporting career


Previous Winners 
  Samantha Lee – Surf Life Saving & Swimming
  Mary Fisher – Swimming
  Mary Fisher – Swimming
  Anita Punt – Hockey
  Natasha Hind – Swimming & Surf Lifesaving

Comments are closed